Public Holidays Calendar
Home
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December
PUBLIC HOLIDAYS CALENDAR
A comprehensive list of the public holidays with description of each holidays including festivals and celebrations are catalogued this webpage.

Please select the month on the top menu to find the holidays in each country or state for that month or choose the country or state from the dropdown menu below to obtain the public holidays in that particular country.
October 2014
SuMoTuWeThFrSa 
   123440
56789101141
1213141516171842
1920212223242543
262728293031 44
Sydney: 08:57 AM Sat
Singapore: 05:57 AM Sat
London: 09:57 PM Fri
New York: 05:57 PM Fri
Los Angeles: 02:57 PM Fri
Public Holidays Worldwide
What IS A Public Holiday?
Public Holidays are days in a year which are usually recognized into law by lawmakers of a nation to be nontrading days or special days throughout year. The public holidays in many cases are non trading days of festivity of a important traditional event whether faith based festivity like Christmas or a specific day of the year or follow other kinds of calendar such as the Lunar Calendar.

A number of popular public holidays commemorated through out the planet are highlighted below:
  • New Year Holiday - is celebrated on 1st of January, the very first day of the year on the present day Gregorian calendar along with the Julian calendar made use of in ancient Rome. When the new year begins at the stroke of midnight, it is usually celebrated with fireworks. It is the closest thing to being the world’s only truly worldwide public holiday as nearly all nations are using the Gregorian calendar as their primary calendar.

  • Labour Day Holiday is an once a year public holiday which is commemorated in nearly all part of the world to commemorate the commercial and social accomplishments of workers. Labour Day is also known to as May Day Public Holiday and it has its roots in the labour union movement, particularly the eight-hour day movement. The real date of the Labour Day public holiday differs from one country or state to another because it is fixed by the individual state and territory governments.

  • An Independence Day is commemorated yearly commemorating the anniversary of a nation’s assumption of independent statehood, often after ceasing to be a colony or being part of another nation or state. In many countries, independence day is proclaimed as a national holiday. Nevertheless, some nations recognize other national days either as opposed to or in addition to an independence day.

  • Easter Holidays are commemorated by Christians residing all over the world to rejoice the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Easter monday is usually proclaimed as a public holiday.

  • Christmas has grown into the most significant public holiday celebration with people celebrating as joyful holiday with lively parties and giving gifts to one another.

  • Eid al-Fitr is one of the two (Eid al-Adha is the other holiday) most significant Islamic holiday, celebrated by Muslims all over the world to mark the conclusion of fasting in Ramadan.


© PublicHolidaysCalendar.com
2010 - 2011

About Us | Contact Us | Partnership | Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap |
Website Hosted by
Business Web Hosting Company